Cost per lead (CPL)

Definition

Cost per lead (CPL) is a marketing metric that measures the cost incurred by a company or marketer to get a single lead.

What is cost per lead?

CPL is an essential metric for marketers and businesses as it helps them evaluate the efficiency and effectiveness of their lead generation efforts. By comparing the CPL across different marketing channels or campaigns, companies can determine which channels or campaigns are delivering the most cost-effective results..

The formula to calculate CPL is:

CPL= Total costs / Number of leads generated

A low CPL indicates that a marketing campaign or channel is efficient in getting leads at a relatively low cost, whereas a high CPL suggests that the cost of getting leads is high compared to the value those leads may bring to the business. 

Ultimately, while CPL is a crucial metric for assessing the cost-effectiveness of lead generation efforts, it should be considered alongside other performance indicators to gain a comprehensive understanding of ROI and overall business success.

Example of cost per lead

Let’s say a company runs an online advertising campaign on social media platforms to generate leads for its new product. The total cost of the campaign amounts to £1,000. Over the duration of the campaign, the company manages to generate 100 leads.

Using the formula for CPL, it can be calculated as:

CPL = £1,000 / 100 = £10

In this example, the cost per lead is £10. This means that on average, the company spent £10 to get each lead through its campaign.

Ready to grow your business?

Clever finance tips and the latest news

Delivered to your inbox monthly

Join the 95,000+ businesses just like yours getting the Swoop newsletter.

Free. No spam. Opt out whenever you like.

We work with world class partners to help us support businesses with finance

Our offices:

Disclaimer: Swoop Finance helps UK firms access business finance, working directly with businesses and their trusted advisors. We are a credit broker and do not provide loans or other finance products ourselves. We can introduce you to a panel of lenders, equity funds and grant agencies. Whichever lender you choose we may receive commission from them (either a fixed fee of fixed % of the amount you receive) and different lenders pay different rates. For certain lenders, we do have influence over the interest rate, and this can impact the amount you pay under the agreement. All finance and quotes are subject to status and income. Applicants must be aged 18 and over and terms and conditions apply. Guarantees and Indemnities may be required. Swoop Finance can introduce applicants to a number of providers based on the applicants’ circumstances and creditworthiness. Swoop Finance Limited is registered with the Financial Conduct Authority as an Account Information Services Provider (reference number 833145). Swoop Finance Limited is authorised as a credit broker under FCA registration number 936513. If you feel you have a complaint, please read our complaints section highlighted above and also contained within our terms and conditions. Swoop Finance Ltd is registered with Companies House (company number 11163382, registered address The Stable Yard, Vicarage Road, Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1BN). VAT number: 300080279

© Swoop 2025

Looks like you're in . Go to our site to find relevant products for your country. Go to Swoop